skip to main content

DASA

Dignity for All Students Act

 

The Bayport-Blue Point School District fosters an educational setting where all students are treated with respect and dignity.  In accordance with the Dignity for All Students Act (DASA), administrators, teachers, staff members and students have continued to address these issues with an increased focus and education.  DASA awareness occurs throughout the school year through assemblies, classroom visits, character education programs and an emphasis in the guidance counselors and psychologists’ offices.

 

Definition of DASA:

 

DASA states that no student should be subjected to harassment or discrimination by employees or students on school property or at a school function.  No student shall be subjected to discrimination based on his/her actual or perceived race, color, national origin, ethnic group, religion, religious practice, disability weight (or other physical features), sexual orientation, gender identity or biological sex.

 

What should I do if my child is having a DASA related problem?

 

Each school has a designated contact person to handle DASA issues.  If you need to make an incident report:

 

1.       Complete the appropriate form for your child’s school. 

2.       Forward it to the assigned Dignity for All Coordinators (DACs). 

3.       Call the DAC to discuss the issue and ensure they have received your form.

 

 

Dignity for All Coordinators (DACs)

 

School

DAC

Email

Phone

Incident Form

Bayport-Blue Point High School

Ms. Dayna Russo

 

Mr. Neil Zarcone

drusso@bbpschools.org


nzarcone@bbpschools.org

472-7800

Click here

         

James Wilson Young Middle School

Ms. Liza Bruno

 

Ms. Nicole Cush

lbruno@bbpschools.org


ncush@bbpschools.org

472-7820

Click here

         

Sylvan Elementary School

Ms. Brooke Yonick

byonick@bbpschools.org

472-7840

Click here

         

Blue Point Elementary School

Ms. Jennifer Graziano

jgraziano@bbpschools.org

472-6100

Click here

         

Academy Street Elementary School

Mr. Sebastien Saylor

ssaylor@bbpschools.org

472-7850

Click here

 

Friday,
July 21, 2017