skip to main content

School Safety Plan

Public Comment period is 30 days.


Budget Newsletter 2020-21


Teacher Transforms Into Portable Pal

1 thumbnail169517
2 thumbnail169518
3 thumbnail169574
4 thumbnail169575
5 thumbnail169576
6 thumbnail169577
With distance-learning in effect for the remainder of the school year, second grade teacher Christina Schroeder from Academy Street Elementary School has found a special way to still be “with” her students. Inspired by the classic children’s book “Flat Stanley,” Schroeder used the Bitmoji app to create a cartoon representation of herself that her students could print out and bring along with them on their daily adventures. The children are very much enjoying having “Flat Mrs. Schroeder” beside them for family meals, outdoor activities, drive-by birthday celebrations and more.

FLASHBACK FRIDAY: Altruism for Animals

1 thumbnail169489

Science Through Screens

1 thumbnail169427
Fifth graders from Sylvan Avenue Elementary School were recently treated to an exciting virtual assembly led by Ranger Eric from Center for Environmental Education and Discovery. In lieu of his annual visit to the school, the wildlife biologist joined the students on Google Meet to teach them all about rainforests and the creatures that inhabit them. Much to the delight of the students, he even showed them some real exotic animals and insects.

The eager students were able to ask Ranger Eric questions via the website’s “chat” feature, making it an enriching interactive experience. This presentation truly brought to life the grade’s unit of study on rainforests and provided a wonderful addition to their distance-learning curriculum.
Bayport-Blue Point Eagle